Leader Valley

Developing Cedar Valley Leaders of Tomorrow...Today!

Leader Valley is a talent development initiative of the Greater Cedar Valley Alliance and Chamber, located in two communities — Waterloo and Cedar Falls, Iowa. Leader Valley prepares Pre-K-12 students for life by providing them with the essential soft skills needed for a life of effectiveness and a competitive advantage in the workforce. We believe this is achieved through high levels of community collaboration.  Through Leader Valley, strong partnerships among Cedar Valley businesses, Pre-K12 Schools, and higher education are being fostered.

Leader in Me

Leader Valley champions believe that ALL students in the Cedar Valley deserve authentic learning and leadership opportunities in a rich leadership school culture. The first priority of Leader Valley is the implementation of Leader in Me in Cedar Valley schools. Through Leader in Me we are:

  • Equipping educators to be leaders and to foster leadership among students
  • Helping students develop the essential soft skills students need for a lifetime of effectiveness
  • Giving students a competitive advantage as they prepare for the workforce
  • Developing the talent that our local businesses need to remain viable 
  • Transforming school cultures with an emphasis on leadership development.
For more information about Leader Valley, click here.


Leader Valley Council

Chair - Tom Penaluna, CBE Companies

Treasurer - Monte Berg, Veridian Credit Union

Secretary - Steve Dust, Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber

Vickie Robinson - University of Northern Iowa College of Education

Jane Bradley - Hawkeye Community College

Jane Lindaman - Waterloo Community Schools

Andy Pattee - Cedar Falls Community Schools

Dale Monroe - Cedar Valley Catholic Schools

Matt Meyers - John Deere Waterloo Works

Tim Godfrey - Witham Auto Center

Patrick Taylor - Viking Pump, Inc. Idex Corp.

Jim Denholm - CUNA Mutual Group

Bryan Earnest - AMPERAGE

Chris Fereday - PDCM Insurance

Jenny Leeper - Cedar Falls School Board

Leader in Me Lighthouse Team

Andrea Christopher -  Orchard Hill Elementary Principal/Cedar Falls

Frank Darrah - Cedar Falls City Council, Retired AEA Administrator/Community

Kim Fettkether - Veridian Credit Union/Business

Sue Flynn - Waterloo Community School Board

Catharine Freeman - Hawkeye Community College, 7 Habits Facilitator

Terri Lasswell - University of Northern Iowa Department of Teaching

Carol Luce - Cedar Valley Catholic Schools, 7 Habits Facilitator

Rachelle Michael - Cedar Valley Catholic Schools/Parent

Sharina Sallis - CUNA Mutual/ Waterloo Schools Parent