Annual Awards

The date to submit 2018 Annual Awards nominations has passed. Award winners will be announced at the Annual Celebration on March 27, 2018. View past award winners.

The Annual Celebration has one major theme: recognition of individuals, businesses, and organizations. The event is attended by over 600, including Cedar Valley business and civic leaders. The evening includes a networking social hour followed by dinner, awards ceremony, and desserts.

Annual Award Categories
  • To recognize the efforts of a Greater Cedar Valley Alliance & Chamber investor in promoting the quality of life and offering leadership within the Cedar Valley, achieving a major business accomplishment or making an outstanding contribution to the Cedar Valley community, economy and citizens.

  Business of the Year Award (1-50 FTEs)

  Business of the Year Award (51plus FTEs)

  • To recognize the efforts of a private sector firm for innovation in technology, advanced manufacturing or talent development.

  Harold Brock Innovation Award

  • To recognize the efforts of a private sector firm for a significant investment in the Cedar Valley that most emphasize the attributes of the Cedar Valley.

  John Deere Treating Capital Well Award

  • To recognize an outstanding contribution by an individual in the private sector for leadership in creating and strengthening regional collaboration and cooperation for economic and community development.

  Fulfilling the Vision of One Award

  • To recognize the efforts of an educational institution, non-profit organization, service club or human service agency in promoting economic growth and employment, quality of life, offering leadership or making an outstanding contribution to the Cedar Valley and its citizens on a continuing basis or with a specific project.

  Cedar Valley Partner Award


Past Award Winners

Diversity & InclusionCedar Valley PartnerHarold Brock InnovationJohn Deere Treating Capital WellBusiness of the YearFulfilling the Vision of OneLegacy

Diversity & Inclusion Partnership Award

The Sayer Law Group, P.C. (2017)

CUNA Mutual Group (2017)

ManpowerGroup, Inc. (2016)

Waterloo Schools (2016)

Cadillac Lanes (2015)

Hawkeye Community College (2015)

Allen College – Unity Point Health (2014)

Veridian Credit Union (2014)

Em’s Coffee Co. (2013)

Wartburg College (2013)

Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare – Iowa (2013)


Cedar Valley Partner Award

Cedar Falls Schools Center for Advanced Professional Studies and Waterloo Community Schools-Career Technical Education Program (2017)

R.J. McElroy Trust (2016)

Boys & Girls Club of the Cedar Valley (2015)

Hawkeye Community College (2015)

Blue Zones of Waterloo & Cedar Falls (BZP) (2014)

Build Our Ballpark (2013)

North Star Community Services (2012)

Iowa Irish Fest/Cedar Valley Irish Cultural Association (2011)

Black Hawk County Gaming Association (2010)


Harold Brock Innovation Award

id8 (2017)

Millrace Coworking & Collaboration Space (2017)

Howfactory (2016)

OMJC Signal (2015)

Kryton Engineered Metals (2014)

Schumacher Elevator (2014)

John Deere Waterloo Works (2013)

T8 Webware (2012)

Doerfer Companies/TDS Automation (2011)

Barmuda MMC (2010)


John Deere Treating Capital Well Award

Rydell Warehousing (2017)

ConAgra Foods (2016)

Farmers State Bank (2015)

Hydrite Chemical Company (2014)

GMT Corporation (2013)

Courier Communications (2012)

Target Distribution Cedar Falls Campus (2011)

PFGBest (2010)


Business of the Year Award

The Accel Group (2017)

Advanced Systems (2017)

JSA Development, LLC/James E. Walsh, Jr. (2016)

VGM Group, Inc. (2016)

Far Reach (2015)

United Equipment Accessories, Inc. (UEA) (2015)

CUNA Mutual (2014)

Mudd Advertising (2013)               

Western Home Communities (2012)

The CBE Group, Inc. (2011)

Hy-Vee Food Stores of Cedar Falls and Waterloo (2010)


Fulfilling the Vision of One Award

Stacey Bentley (2017)

Jayne Hall (2016)

Tom Penaluna (2015)

Tim Hurley (2014)

Reid Koenig (2013)

Steve Tscherter (2013)

Jean M. Trainor (2012)

Bob Hellman (2011)

Rick Young (2010)


Legacy Award

Bob Petersen (2017)

Dan Watters (2017)

Jim Mudd Sr. & Cecelia Mudd (2016)

Ed Gallagher Jr. (2015)

Bob Koob (2014)

Ken Lockard (2014)

Barry Schaffter (2014)

H.D. “Ike” Leighty (2013)

W. Louis Beecher (2012)

Honoring the Memory of Harold Brock (2011)

Dr. Ross Christensen (2010)